Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Chairman John H. Eaves to Listen to Crime Concerns of Midtown and Downtown Residents & Businesses

ATLANTA – As part of his ongoing dialogue with Metro Atlanta residents regarding their concerns about crime and violence, Fulton County Commission Chairman John H. Eaves will discuss those issues with residents and merchants in the city’s core business district.  Chairman Eaves will convene the third in a series of Crime and Safety Summits with those in the Midtown and Downtown Atlanta communities.  Following issues with robberies and assaults in those communities,  police, political leaders and court officials will discuss current approaches to making these “Live, Work, Play” communities safer.

“These areas of the city represent neighborhoods full of concerned homeowners as well as the nucleus of our business community,” said Chairman Eaves, adding, “It is imperative that their voices be heard.”

The meeting will be held at the Saint Mark United Methodist Church on 781 Peachtree St NE in Atlanta on Tuesday, April 22, 2014 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.  The moderator will be Fulton County Public Information Officer Lyn Vaughn.  Residents will get a chance to speak to a panel that is scheduled to include:

  • Chairman John Eaves, Ph.D., Chairman, Fulton County Board of Commissioners 
  • Rev. Dr. Beth LaRocca-Pitts, Senior Pastor, Saint Mark United Methodist Church 
  • Judge Robert McBurney, Superior Court of Fulton County 
  • Chief Judge Stephanie C. Davis, Magistrate Court 
  • Chief Judge Bradley J. Boyd, Fulton County Juvenile Court 
  • Chief Judge John R. Mather, Fulton County State Court
  • Paul L. Howard, Jr., Fulton County District Attorney
  • Major James Whitmire, Atlanta Police Department 
  • Chris Leighty, Director of Public Safety, Midtown Alliance 
  • Ted Jackson, Fulton County Sheriff
  • Andre Dickens, Atlanta City Council Member, Post 3 At-Large
For more information on this event, contact Sojourner Marable Grimmett for Fulton County Commission Chairman John H. Eaves at (404) 612-8333.  Chairman Eaves’ office can also be reached via social media on Twitter @JohnEaves and Facebook /JohnHEaves.

No comments:

Post a Comment